Evening Thoughts with Alice, #The last one in this project

Many years ago my ex-husband told me about a book he was reading about how to get along with difficult people in the workplace. One of the ideas in the book is to realize something very important about the people you disagree with. And that is this: Everybody has the same goal. Each person in the company believes that his way is the best thing for the company. Everybody wants success. The problems come in the different ways that is defined, and how to accomplish it.

Yes, there are the odd few who are saboteurs, but for the most part, every body sincerely thinks they have the good of the company in mind.

I am trying to apply this principle to our political world right now.

I am 100% for women’s rights, but not at the expense of unborn women (and men). I believe that those who are pro-choice are sincere in their desire to do what’s best for women. We simply disagree on how that looks and who this includes.

I am 100% for helping refugees. I have no idea how to do this in a wise way that protects everybody. Or if that is even possible. I defer to wiser minds than mine. I don’t have a clue.

And on and on. There are so many issues we can fight with each other about. And I’m sure there will be plenty of it in our feeds, and on the news, and maybe in the streets. But maybe we can pause to remember that your neighbors who disagree with you (and me) very likely aren’t evil. Likely they think they are doing the best thing for our country and for humanity. We simply disagree on what that means and how to get there.

I’m going to try to listen more. I’m going to try to hold my tongue more. There are enough voices screaming for attention right now. And as the song goes, “If we’re (I’m) adding to the noise, turn off this song.”

Love you guys. Thanks for reading.

This entry was posted in Business as usual. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

