Morning Thoughts with Alice, #2

Purging: A tale of two houses.

It was the best of times, it was the worst of times. It was taking way too long.

That is, it IS taking way too long. In my mind I could have the entire process of moving out of one house into a newer smaller house completed in about… two weeks. In my body in real life, it’s taking a lot longer.

I am realizing, and being affirmed of, several things. One, I’m not that strong, physically. I have wrist “issues.” I can carry a couple of boxes a day. I can paint a little bit of trim a day. Etc etc. The old gray mule just ain’t what she used to be.

I’ve also realized I can only think about a few things at a time, and make one decision at a time. If someone asks me “what are you going to do with this?” I go blank. I have a plan… a plan to decide what to do with that AFTER I decide what to do about these other things slightly related to that thing. So for me to say what I plan to do with “this” I have to jump the other things… but I can’t jump the other things because those other things determine what I’m going to do with “this.”

Convoluted you say? Yes, convoluted. And that’s why I have to decide one thing at a time. Otherwise I just stand there wide-eyed and frozen while the person asking me “what are you going to do with this?” keeps asking and asking, as if I didn’t hear them…

And that’s the thought I’ll end this post on. Decisions often need to be made one at a time. Although sometimes I will brave a jump ahead, mostly because I don’t want to scare off my help! So I’ll take a guess and figure, worse case I get rid of something I will later need, or I’ll keep something I can get rid of later. Either isn’t the end of the world. But for myself, I like making one decision at a time.

But soon the process of living happily with less excess will be done! At least the moving part will be. And it is a far, far better thing that I do, than I have ever done; it is a far, far better rest that I go to than I have ever known.

***
(thanks to Adrienne and Leslie for the prompt!)

This entry was posted in Morning Thoughts with Alice. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

