What’s snew?

I was at the store the other day looking for stocking stuffers and saw something that I thought was pretty funny.  Snickers has changed their wrapper.  There in the check-out display were Snickers, but instead of the word SNICKERS printed on the brown familiar wrappers there was “GRUMPY” and on another “FEISTY” and on and on.  I laughed.  Out loud.  And then I saw the one labeled “COMPLAINER.”  Ouch.  Why ya gotta get so personal, Snickers?

Let’s say you wake up one morning and don’t feel well or something hurts.  You tell someone.  No crime in that.  Let’s say you wake up many mornings and don’t feel well or something hurts.  You tell someone.  Only they’ve heard it.  They’ve heard it a thousand times. So what’s the point?  It’s not new news.  It’s old news.  Why even mention it at all?

So what do you do with the realization that “ouch that hurts” or “blah I feel like I’d better lie down or fall down”?  How do you keep that information to yourself when you are the sharing type?  (You’re also a good listener, but that’s beside the point.)

Beats me.  That’s what I’m trying to learn  How to live in the reality of not being what I used to be, and yet not be a wet blanket to all those around me.  And also, dang people, maybe I can’t get the kitchen cleaned before I go to bed or want to go out after 7 pm if I can help it.  I want you to know why!  I want you to know I’m not being lazy or antisocial. Well, I’m not just being lazy or antisocial.

Hmm.  Maybe that’s the secret.  Not worrying about what other people think of my slightly altered life-style and allowances I have to make.  Just do my thing, how ever that looks for that particular day.  And as the song goes, “Take it to the Lord in prayer.”  His ear is always ready to hear.  He knows about it already.  It doesn’t bore him and he wants me to lean on his strength.

So I guess that’s what’s snew.  Nothing!  Just remembering something I’ve known and forgotten a hundred times before.

But I am encouraged to practice what I know with even more determination (and grace, golly gee I need so much grace).  Upward and onward!  After my nap.

Love ya.

 

This entry was posted in Business as usual and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

