Pin cushions (Turning 50 Re-vamp Series)

I found the words “trust the process” coming out of my mouth for the first time yesterday. I was at physical therapy when I said it.  I heard the therapy aid chuckle so I wondered if I had said something stupid. Was that one of the phrases that people make fun of nowadays, and as an older person I was (once again) clueless?

Maybe. People make fun of everything eventually.

But be that as it may, I am Trusting the Process.

The physical therapy I am taking is for my neck and shoulders. Two times a week for six weeks. Some of which is not covered by insurance. By about the second week I was ready to quit, because I just don’t spend money on myself for things that aren’t necessary (unless they very pretty and in my size) and I don’t like to waste my time either (unless it’s funny stuff on the internet). So I had decided to go only once a week.

Then it hit me, maybe once, just once, I would follow the directions of a health professional exactly as they recommended them. I don’t usually do that. I usually consider what they recommend, and then see how I feel about it. This hasn’t always worked out well for me.

So yesterday, after having needles inserted into the knots in my neck, I am trusting there will be healing and relief. Of course, there are no guarantees with any medical process. But I will never get the best results if I always “cut my pills in half” so to speak.

Oh, don’t hear me say I’m trusting all of the medical profession 100%! I did say no thank you to the bladder mesh that was recommended by my surgeon (to perform “while I’m in there anyway.”) Not doing that was a GREAT decision. We as patients are still responsible to do what research we can and make the best decision for us at the time.

So concerning the treatments I’m getting at physical therapy, I have researched it and am committed to the plan of action. And right now, let me tell you, those needles have made my shoulders feel like I’ve been hit by a truck.

But the knots are gone. And according to the experts, the soreness will go away in 24 to 48 hours. Then I’m due for another round in a few days. I am Trusting the Process.

Or at least, I’m giving it a chance. If I quit now, I’ll never know if it would have really worked on me or not. In this context, there is little risk – lots of trust – and results may vary. I’m good with that.

This entry was posted in Business as usual, Turning 50 Revamp!. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pin cushions (Turning 50 Re-vamp Series)

  1. witchyluck says:

    50 is not for the faint hearted. Feel better. (Ask for ultra sound massage if they do it–feels amazing)

Leave a Reply

