Advent Thoughts

Did Jesus dread leaving Heaven?
Was he annoyed at being needed?
Did he cringe when the alarm clock chimed “Now!”?
Did he sigh at taking on flesh with its many limits?

I can only relate to my own experience.
I dread leaving heavenly moments.
I am annoyed when someone needs me.
I don’t lie in hope for the alarm to ring.
And I only know the growing limits of youth to age.

I don’t know.
Except that he did give up his glory –
humbled, willing, ready,
arms open wide to flesh’s limits
from cradle to cross.

This entry was posted in Business as usual. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Advent Thoughts

  1. Just think of how sad it would be if we were not needed! 🙂 I’m sorry to just see this now. A nice reflection, Al. Kathleen

Leave a Reply

