Foul Play

I’ve never seen a basketball foul
I’ve never seen a football hold
Oh, I’ve seen the flags
and heard the whistles
and watched the penalties enacted
But I’ve never seen the crime

I’ve watched the slow motion replays
I’ve had patient people point out the very moment
and action
I’ve seen free throws and yards counted back
But I’ve never seen the crime

Maybe my eye isn’t quick enough
Or since I haven’t played the games
I can’t grasp the subtleties
Or maybe I just want the game to go on
uninterrupted
And leave crime scene investigation
to other stations

Aw, come on, ref.

This entry was posted in Poemy Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

