Coup de grace

When my heart burns for justice
and I feel that righteous shake
of hands and knees
Mercy is nowhere in sight –
it’s a foreign thought
in some foreign land
nowhere,
nowhere in sight.

But all it takes is the word.

Someone says it
and all hell breaks.

“Mercy?” the voice asks,
“What about mercy?”

And my righteous fury –
my blood lust for justice
evaporates into the air.

I remember
how mercy feels
when I needed it most
and deserved it least.
I remember
the gratitude
when it is shown by others
to those I love…

Yes, mercy! More mercy! More mercy to all!
And mercy, more mercy to me!

This entry was posted in Business as usual. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

