Namaste, y’all!

Yeah, I’m doing yoga now, so I say cool things like that.

Actually, we really do say that at the end of class. (Minus the “y’all.”)

Most of you are familiar with the word and its meanings. In our yoga class, it means, in short, “I honor the place in you which is love, truth, light, and peace. When you are in that place in you, and I am in that place in me, then we are one.” I think that’s pretty cool. I don’t fully understand it, but I think that means “respect.”

There are a lot of people who don’t agree with everything I say or do. In fact, there is no one on earth who agrees with everything I say or do. I don’t even agree with everything I say or do. Inconsistencies are a reality in my life, and probably all lives.

I appreciate so much the people in my life who show me respect, and yet may never agree with me. Their kindness and gentleness with me (and with others they disagree with) shows a deep compassion in their lives. They respect the value of another life, another voice, a different view. That makes me want to show respect right back at them! And a deeper relationship is built.

This is 100% easier to do in person than online where we seem to be caricatures of ourselves. The temptation to annihilate our “foe” can be overwhelming in the heat of discussion. Sometimes instead of engaging each other, we want to “shut ’em up and ship ’em out.” We want them and their views gone from this planet. This is not love. And whatever issue we are arguing, when we cross that line of respect, we lose our impact. We annihilate ourselves, so to speak.

Thankfully, that doesn’t happen often in my haunts. I usually witness the more gracious side of others. Maybe that’s because I try to only go where people are kind. Though honestly speaking, I could do better with showing more grace to others, myself.

Because something very beautiful happens when we show respect to those we don’t agree with. Our actions say, “You are a person with value, and you deserve to be shown respect, regardless of our differences.” And the doors to deeper understanding remain open.

I wonder if that means “Namaste” as well.

This entry was posted in Business as usual. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Namaste, y’all!

  1. postalice says:

    Thank you, Sheila Moore Taylor, for you help with this post!

  2. It does, indeed. This post is very timely for me. I hope many will read it and I love you for writing it…among other things. ♥

  3. Anonymous says:

    Love your post, and Namaste’ to you too!

Leave a Reply

