9/11, again

But what if I don’t want to remember?
What if I want to forget?
What if I get a sick feeling every time I see those planes hit those buildings?
What if I’d rather think about something else?

And what if I don’t want to have parades for diseases?
What if I don’t like to remember that people die every day from things we can’t cure?
What if I want to think about something else?

I know. I know. We don’t celebrate the tragedy, we remember the victims.
Yes, people should be remembered.
I would like to honor their lives, not the buildings.
Not the planes.
Not the fire and ash.

And yes, I know. We don’t celebrate diseases,
We make people aware to prevent stage 4’s
and raise money for cures.
Yes, we need cures.

Real people are hurt by terror and disease.
So, yes, I will remember.
And, yes, I will tie ribbons.
But don’t think for a moment that I am celebrating.

This entry was posted in Business as usual. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

