For those about to move, I salute you.

I have lived here in North Carolina longer than I have lived anywhere in my life – most other places being less than two years.  Which is a big deal because home is important to me.  Home is the largest part of my world.

Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed moving around the country.  The kids were home-schooled when they were young, so packing up and going somewhere new wasn’t too traumatic.  I am so glad for every city and state I got to explore.  This is a big beautiful country full of wonderful people.

That said, sometimes I didn’t like being the new person. And sometimes I got homesick – homesick that I didn’t feel at home.

This morning I was reminded of the words “Bloom where you are planted.” Many years back I scribbled those words on a sheet of paper, along with a quickly drawn tulip, and taped it above my washing machine. It helped me through some homesick days.

But homesick nights were the worst.

I “stumbled” on a verse one day that helped me through my years of adjusting and readjusting. It especially helped me during the nights:

“Lord, you have been our dwelling place throughout all generations. Before the mountains were born or you brought forth the whole world, from everlasting to everlasting you are God.”

If the Lord is my dwelling place, only my belongings are packed up and moved, only my surroundings change.  My real home is immovable, permanent, never changing.

Yes, things will change, people will move, adjustments will be made.  But before this beautiful world was ever made, God was, and is, and always will be.  And let me tell you, that is some real estate in which you can put down roots and bloom.

And so, my loves, here’s to big beautiful blooms!

‘“The Lord bless you
and keep you;
the Lord make his face shine on you
and be gracious to you;
the Lord turn his face toward you
and give you peace.”’

This entry was posted in Business as usual. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

