Today’s Poems

Autoimmune
friendly fire
running the wrong way with the football
scoring for the other team
self inflicted healing, that doesn’t.

***

My mom would never make it up those stairs.
Not if she could see daylight through the steps.
To watch her try you’d think
she’s walking on the wings of a plane.

***

It feels indecent to be
taller than the bathroom stall.
What do I care
if people see my head
when I stand?
But I try to make myself small
until I open the door.
Excessive modesty denied
because of a few inches.

Guys must really have it rough.

This entry was posted in Business as usual. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

