Speak at Your Own Risk

I think every book is supposed to be a conversation
And every sermon an invitation for discussion.
I once called an author to dispute something he said
because it was a hard lie he was telling soft people
and because his phone number was listed
and because we didn’t have the internet back then.

And pity the pastor that preaches to me
I always want to corner him after the service
and ask questions
and send emails
and send replies to those emails.
I’m getting better at letting things go now.

Yes, every book I care anything about is dog-eared
underlined
highlighted
and commented on in the margins

And when I read the poets
who say the very things I have thought
and maybe written about
or maybe wished I had
I have to tell them if I can
and if I can’t, well,
there’s always the margins.

This entry was posted in Business as usual. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

