Sometimes you just have to wait, especially in January

I’ll wait for joy
whether it shows up today
unannounced while I’m busy about my life
or not

I’ll wait for joy
whether it lands in my lap
at the end of the day, happy sighs to sleep to
or not

I’ll wait for joy
whether it holds me close in a night
of illness and worry
or not

I’ll wait for joy
whether it dances with me, smiles and high steps
in my bright summer days
or not

Like a waiter too long from the table
it can’t be waved at
or summoned from across the room –
It will show up
when it shows up
regardless of or how full
or empty
your glass is

Wait for joy

This entry was posted in Business as usual. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sometimes you just have to wait, especially in January

  1. This is exceptionally good Al.

Leave a Reply

