A poem a day for December, Poem 23

One Singular Sensation

What a strange thing it is
that I am me
and you are you
and we aren’t somebody else

I’m not the Greek god-like man
athletic, smart, young, wealthy
suit and a brief case
complete with movie star smile

Likely you aren’t either

I’m not the starving child
with the swollen stomach
flies around my mouth
an empty bowl on the mat next to me

Likely you aren’t either

I’m not wearing long draping clothes
to cover all my skin
And I’m not in a bikini
strutting on muscle beach

Likely you aren’t either

There are billions of others
I am not
and you aren’t either

I am only Me
And you are only You
And everybody else
is Everybody Else

This entry was posted in Business as usual. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

