A poem a day for December, Poem 18

(3 Poems)

I remember making up songs
when I was alone
out in the way back yard
near the ditch
and the popcorn tree
and being surprised
by a girl
a little older than me
that I didn’t know well
who quickly began
evaluating my song
“Pretty good, but not great.”
We were friends
for a short while
but she wasn’t
my type.

+++++++

Some mornings you know,
even before getting out of bed,
that it is going to be a
business only day.
And smiling is not part of the business.

I decided it might be best
if I kept quiet about my prediction
because too many unfriendly thoughts
were brewing
and they might escape
if given half the chance.

Then I heard him
from the other room
singing to himself
the words to an old
Ronny Milsap song

And it turns out
I smiled
even before
the coffee was done.

+++++++++

I found the words “do not fear”
written on the back
of an old Food Lion receipt –
written in my handwriting.

I turned it over to check the date
then checked the calendar for a clue
as to what was going on
when I scribbled the words
so hurriedly.
Nothing, as far as I could see.
Just another Monday.

And so I figure
it must have been
one of those days
when everything feels like Goliath
and I didn’t have any stones.

But I must have known
somehow
that everything was going to be okay
otherwise why would I tell myself
not to fear?
The note would have said,
“Run” or “Give up” or “Buy more wine”

This entry was posted in Business as usual. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A poem a day for December, Poem 18

  1. jenpedwards says:

    If you are getting weary, then it must be exhaustion from hitting so many homeruns! Love all three!

Leave a Reply

