A poem a day for December, Poem 16

Bifocaled

I can see distance
and close up
with a slight tip
of the chin.
Down for distance
up for close.

This little tip –
the slightest nod
sometimes upsets
my balance
and over works my neck.

They say I’ll get used to it,
this back and forth way of seeing,
that I should be patient
and keep at it.

I guess they’re right –
it always causes
a little discomfort
when we start to see
two views.

This entry was posted in Poemy Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A poem a day for December, Poem 16

  1. jenpedwards says:

    This makes me think of our life here: we see the reality of what’s happening around us, and then we must tip our our head to see behind and beyond that reality to another more real one. The constant back and forth does indeed cause discomfort and even weariness. But we need to keep on tipping and nodding to rightly see. N’est-ce pas? 🙂

Leave a Reply

