A poem a day for December, Poem 13

Like a child
I cry when I am tired
I cried last night

We had planned to get our tree
our long awaited tree
the tree we wouldn’t get until
everybody was home

And everybody was home
but I couldn’t go

I was tired
I was weepy tired
I was sick to my stomach tired
I was weepy, sick, and tired

They went without me
I asked them to
I begged them through my tears
(you would think it was life or death)

I went to bed and they left
and I slept

Several hours later
I woke for a moment
and like a child on Christmas night
wandered downstairs
to catch a glimpse
of our new Christmas tree
the tree they bought without me

There it was
beautiful
unadorned
except for a Santa hat on top

Today
well rested and happy
(and not the slightest bit weepy)
I will decorate it with flourish
and of course
leave the hat on top.

This entry was posted in Poemy Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A poem a day for December, Poem 13

  1. jenpedwards says:

    I know thatkind of tired. It’s dreadful! Glad you are rested and happy today!

  2. That really hits home for me. Too often I spend so much effort and energy on things I HAVE to do that I’m too worn out for the fun family stuff that I WANT to do.

Leave a Reply

