A poem a day for December, Poem 11

Maybe once it gets colder
or if it snowed
Maybe once we get our tree
and hang some lights
Maybe when I get more cards
or when I send mine
Maybe if I listened to more “Carol of the bells”
and less “…hear the bells ringing…”
Maybe if I thought more about angels at stables
and less of angles at empty tombs
Maybe if I reflected more on God becoming flesh
and less on God bearing my sin
Maybe if I consider more the birth of Life-giver
and less the death of Death
Maybe sometimes it’s impossible to think of one
and not celebrate the other
Maybe this year
Easter will be at Christmas

Hear the bells ringing

This entry was posted in Poemy Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A poem a day for December, Poem 11

  1. Pingback: I Will Be (A Poem) « What If It All Means Something

Leave a Reply

