A poem a day for December, Day 5

“Body-Mind Connection”
or “I’ll be the first to die in a famine”

not hungry
not hungry
not hungry
STARVING
weeping and gnashing of teeth
breakfast
ambition

not hungry
not hungry
not hungry
STARVING
oh, the inhumanity
lunch
peace

not hungry
not hungry
not hungry
STARVING
the world is terrible place, full of cruelty and injustice
dinner
satisfaction

not sleepy
not sleepy
not sleepy
EXHAUSTED
life, as we know it, is impossible, everything is impossible.
sleep
clarity

+++++

Bonus Poems:

I’m a little lost today
I walk from room to room
grab laundry
wash dishes
click to see if the world is still there

I can’t shake the feeling

I would love to wrestle with it
or sit it down
for a reasonable talk

But it’s buried deep
so my nerves feel it
but my mind can’t name it

Maybe I can busy it out of hiding.

+++++++

The heart is undignified
and at times
shows no decorum

It slices through the silence
with a soft spoken “Sorry”

It tramples on the awkwardness
to blurt a brave “I love you”

It beats on
and on
and on
with a stubborn “I forgive you”

The heart is undignified
and at times
shows no decorum

This entry was posted in Poemy Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

