Crazy train

“Everything good that can happen has already happened. What’s left for me is a life of dealing with one situation/difficulty/challenge after another. Because how could anything good happen when all the good that can happen has already happened?”

It’s amazing what bull hockey can come nest in your mind.

Something had been bringing me down for a while. Some nagging thing just under the surface that was killing my joy and fueling my anxiety. Sleep was being interrupted with worry. Everywhere I looked I saw impending doom.

Eventually I ranted.

Then I listened.

In the quiet safety of our bedroom I let the words come out. My husband and I heard me say it, “Everything good that can happen has already happened.” And once those words were out I felt the relief of realizing where my thinking had gone off the rails. I knew it wasn’t true. I knew it, but I didn’t know why. It sounded crazy, but it felt true.

“There’s plenty of good that can still happen,” he whispered.

“Do you think so?”

“I know so.”

It was enough to get me to sleep. Sometimes I can sleep on someone else’s hope. Especially when they hold me tight. And I was certain more clarity would come in the morning.

And it did. Driving to my job the next day I was talking to God about it and this verse came to mind, “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”

Of course! Romans 8:28! How do I forget such simple things? I’ve known that verse for over 30 years… and I still have to be reminded. So be it. So long as I’m reminded.

All things. All things. All things. In all things God works…

Any “situation/difficulty/challenge” we will face (and we will face them) will be used by God “for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.” We don’t have to know how he will do it. In fact, if the hard things we face do nothing but draw us to our Father, then they have done a very good thing.

In bed the next night I told my husband about the verse and he said, “We’ve seen it in our lives, Sweetie.” And I knew what he was talking about. Us, our marriage. Our happiness following tragedy and sadness and disappointment. Unexpected, caught of guard, undeserved joy.

Once again, a picture is painted of God’s love and redemption. Ours is an imperfect picture of a perfect thing, but it speaks to my heart. God is so good.

The point is, I don’t have to worry. We don’t have to worry. All the good that can happen hasn’t already happened. How can it when God is still working in our hearts and in our world for his glory and our good? I can certainly trust my days, and all the hours in those days, to a God who loves me.

And I will certainly need to be reminded again.

“And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.” Ephesians 3

This entry was posted in Business as usual. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Crazy train

  1. Stunning. I mean just glorious. I am inspired.

  2. Pingback: Why Do Bad Things Happen to Good People? « Ralphie´s Portal

  3. Reblogged this on the beautiful humble and commented:
    Absolutely stunning post from my friend Alice. I thought this was incredibly inspiring.

Leave a Reply

