Queen Angelanse, if you please.

Heidelberg Catechism, Lord’s Day 48

Q. 123. What is the second petition?

A. “Thy kingdom come.” That is: so govern us by thy Word and Spirit that we may more and more submit ourselves unto thee. Uphold and increase thy church. Destroy the works of the devil, every power that raises itself against thee, and all wicked schemes thought up against thy holy Word, until the full coming of thy kingdom in which thou shalt be all in all.

Push back the gloom. That’s your charge in Castleville, the Facebook game I’ve started playing. Only problem is, I don’t really want to push back the gloom. I want to feed my chickens and harvest my flax and play around on the little strip of land every beginner of the game has been given. You see, the more you push back the gloom and gain land and money, the bigger and badder the enemies you have to face become. I don’t like bigger badder enemies. I really don’t.

So far, I’ve managed to put off pushing back a lot of gloom. I’ve done only what the game has forced me to do. At times, my back is against the wall. It’s them or me. I have to fight. That’s the only time I do fight, when I have to. I’m the reluctant warrior of Angelanse’s Kingdom. (psst, hey, look me up – “AngelanseWall” and friend me. I need more flax.)

Back to topic. I’m pretty sure in the above catechism the charge is not for us to “Destroy the works of the devil, every power that raises itself against thee, and all wicked schemes thought up against thy holy Word, until the full coming of thy kingdom in which thou shalt be all in all.” I’m pretty sure that’s God’s work. But I do think we are called, in some form, to help push back the gloom.

But how?

Well, I figure we sometimes have to (by choice or force) leave the flax and chickens and happy little homestead and use our energy to explore. In the game Castleville, when you explore the gloom, that section of the gloom lifts. It lights up – just by you showing up.

Well, that’s a start. Show up.

Feed your chickens, harvest your flax, fight off any enemies that invade, AND explore. I’m sure you’re aware of some gloom and darkness around you right now, and perhaps even inside you. It needs to be lifted.

No, I’m not saying to put yourself in bad situations or indulge in morbid introspection (be wise!). I am saying that it’s your job to be light in dark places. To shine God’s light through you onto others. And to let his light touch the dark places in your own life.

Show up, explore, and watch it happen.

There is a happy land, far, far away,
Where saints in glory stand, bright, bright as day;
Oh, how they sweetly sing, worthy is our Savior King,
Loud let His praises ring, praise, praise for aye.

Come to that happy land, come, come away;
Why will you doubting stand, why still delay?
Oh, we shall happy be, when from sin and sorrow free,
Lord, we shall live with Thee, blest, blest for aye.

Bright, in that happy land, beams every eye;
Kept by a Father’s hand, love cannot die;
Oh, then to glory run; be a crown and kingdom won;
And, bright, above the sun, we reign for aye

There Is a Happy Land

Andrew Young, 1838

This entry was posted in Business as usual. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

