Sister Golden Hair

I was reading today about the little girl who Jesus raised from the dead and wondered what her life was like after that event.  I pictured –

white linen dress
sunlit meadow
a golden haired child chasing a butterfly
mother nearby hanging laundry on a line
smiling at her daughter
as the wind swirls the sheets
and her own wispy hair
against her fair cheek…

Sounds more like a Downy Fabric Softener commercial than Palestine 2000 years ago, I’m afraid. Too much blonde in my minds-eye.  I blame TV.

But really.  What was the little girl’s life like after being raised from the dead?  We don’t have any word in the Scripture about it.

I don’t think we’ll ever know for sure, but I know what I hope it was like.  I hope her life was full of the things that I read in another verse this morning:

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.

Somehow, I feel like they are connected – the story of the little girl being raised from the dead, and the fruit of the Spirit passage, and me. Well, us.

Love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. Those are pretty amazing goals and astonishing attributes. But mostly, I think they are the grateful life-response to a gracious life-gift. They are the response of a life that has been lost, found, and then turned back over for more life. Day after day. Laundry load after laundry load, butterfly after butterfly.

This entry was posted in Business as usual. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

