And they grieve

And They Grieve

The thunder woke me
jarred from uneasy
dreams
and people in dreams
and dreams
Until the thunder woke me

This morning I saw the
puddles
And I read about her sad

It thundered for her
as well last night
dreams
and people in dreams
and dreams
Until the clouds broke

+++

“It’s okay to be sad sometimes”
as if I had a choice
Sad “sometimes” would be relief
my sad is all times
leaking into all things

But that will change
they say,
again
and since I have no choice
but to be on this road
we will see
But sometimes I don’t believe

+++

In the dark pain
of sorrow
crushing lungs
legs barely able
to hold me
not able to hold me
Collapse and Crumple
I sink into
my ache

for hours

or minutes

Until a voice calls
from somewhere

I hear him shy
on the stairs
not wanting to see
my broken
I find my feet
and muster
I-can-do-this

“I’ll be right down”
and life goes on
for us.

This entry was posted in Poemy Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to And they grieve

  1. jenpedwards says:

    Heartwrenchingly beautiful.

  2. Haunting, beautiful, and oh so meaningful…you’ve captured it ♥

  3. Kathleen Breault says:

    😀

  4. Kathleen Breault says:

    😀

Leave a Reply

