Continued thoughts on “One Thousand Gifts” by Ann Voskamp (part 1)

I can over think something like the best of us, and perhaps I am doing that here, but do some of the words in One Thousand Gifts seem profound to me because they are profound, or is it because they are only words I have understood in a page full of letters? Like reading Moby Dick, I would become delighted when I read something I understood. “Ah! Brilliant!” I would think.

Sometimes I feel a little foggy in the book. My mind wades thickly through “Bowed at the edge of the world, Jesus asks me spun in circles, me coming to, only to lapse and forget again.” pg 107, but then she shines “Every moment I live, I live bowed to something. And if I don’t see God, I will bow down before something else.” pg. 110.

I think the author really does say something. But I won’t deny that the hard parts make me pay more attention. And the payoff for those discoveries is probably greater for the search.

This entry was posted in Business as usual. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

