I’m so vain, I probably think this poem is about me.

What clothes to wear
too young?
too old?

Youthful smile
until you see the eyes
crinkled to the cheek

A woman, for certain
and certain of much
but the uncertainty of change

And it is coming
it’s almost here
a change of life, of me

How much of me
will be changed
and how much will remain

I’m afraid of being forgotten
no longer interesting to the eye
(at least the possibility was there)

To give up that angle
that slant of power
what will take its place?

A better person?
a wiser person?
a person less focused on herself?

Or a sad dyed attempt
at youth gone by
too much makeup around the mouth

I don’t want to cling to what has gone
I don’t want to grab at what will be
The now, part young part old

The other awkward age.

This entry was posted in Poemy Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m so vain, I probably think this poem is about me.

  1. Kathleen Breault says:

    I admire you, Al. This is good. I love the way you write.

Leave a Reply

