#13, It really is going to be okay

I’m getting back into my list of… happiness rules. “Happiness rules” is so far from the truth. These are more like “survival lessons” that I’ve learned in my 46 years. I’m sure the list will be very different 10 years from now. But I’m here now, and these are the lessons I’ve learned so far for survival here on this beautiful, wonderful, and sometimes painful planet.

“It really is going to be okay.” Do you believe that? Do I?

Yes, I do. But sometimes I forget.

And sometimes I don’t forget, but it appears I’m being pessimistic because when I face a difficult situation I ask, “What is the worst thing that can happen?” I find the worst thing, and go from there. And it actually cheers me up.

For instance, let’s say I find a lump somewhere. What is the worst thing that can happen? Well, it could be cancerous and I could die. There, that’s the worst thing.

Then I figure from there. What if it’s cancer and I don’t die? What if it’s not cancer at all?

But (here’s the important part) I HAVE to go back to the worst thing and deal with that what-if before I can move on.

Okay, let’s say it is cancer and I will die from it. What now? That’s where my faith kicks in.

What if I die? Well, I’ll leave this place and go somewhere else – somewhere perfect. Home.

Going home is the worst thing that can happen. I can deal with that.

Of course, I’m looking at that scenario from the outside. I’ve never had cancer, so I don’t understand the suffering fully. And, I’ve never had to say goodbye to the people I love. I can’t imagine that pain. But, in watching others who have had to say goodbye I do believe this is true: God will never leave us in despair. He draws near to those who suffer and they find great amounts of grace.

I’m using a very drastic example for “It really is going to be okay.” It actually applies to me in small ways almost every day. I’m late picking up the kids, I find my anxiety rising to crazy levels, and then I ask, “What’s the worst thing that can happen? I’ll be late.” And if that worst thing happens, it really is going to be okay.

From the petty stresses of my day, to life changing circumstances, and everything in between – it really is going to be okay. God has already bagged the happy ending. It is secure for me. And that helps me survive the big and small.

This entry was posted in Business as usual. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #13, It really is going to be okay

  1. xmelaniex7 says:

    “God has already bagged the happy ending.” It REALLY is going to be okay. Thank you, Alice.

Leave a Reply

