9. That dollar looks better in your pocket than in someone else’s (this is concerning bargains, not charity)

Yeah, I’m still plowing through my list of happiness dealies. I think this one is the least interesting, and I’m not even sure if it should be in the list. But since money is a reality, and we do have to eat … here goes:

“That dollar looks better in your pocket than in someone else’s.” This is what my husband’s first boss told him. Except he said it, “That dollar looks better in my pocket than in someone else’s.” He was referring to saving a buck on something – about being humble enough to use a coupon.

Money is boring to me. I’d rather think about a million other things. I’m not saying I always have so much money I never have to think about it, (silly), I’m saying I’d rather not think about it. When I don’t have much, I don’t spend it. When I have had an abundance, I don’t spend it… much. Okay, I spend it some.

I guess there’s nothing wrong with not thinking about money, except then you tend to be sloppy with it. And sloppy bookkeeping doesn’t show respect for the effort needed to acquire it.

Feast or famine. I’ve done both. But one thing I should always do is try to get the most for the money I have. I need to take the effort to find the best price and product (value) for what I need. I need to take the time to clip a coupon I KNOW I’ll use, to go to the store that has chicken on sale, to look for deals. I need to respect money.

We all have our weak spots. Right now, wanting a lot of material things isn’t mine. I don’t know who the top designers are, I don’t want a bigger house, I couldn’t care less what car people drive. My weak spots tend to be in a different direction. But that doesn’t make me better with money, just less interested in it.

Not to say I don’t get a thrill when I find five dollars I forgot about! Hey, that five looks better in my pocket than under the sofa.

This entry was posted in Business as usual. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

