untitled

You go about life. Bobbing and weaving. Throwing punches and dodging them. Dealing with… life. When suddenly you hear something that makes so much sense you never forget it. And you find yourself pulling that piece of information up, almost immediately, throughout your life. It applies to you and your current situation. It makes sense and it brings peace and sanity.

That’s what my Rules and Mantras of Happiness are to me. Except they aren’t really rules. Maybe they are mantras. But they certainly are pieces of truth sprinkled throughout my 46 years of life. They pop up “on screen” when the moment warrants. And I’m so grateful to the people who brought them to me.

I love reading other people’s “pop ups,” too. They remind me, “Oh yes, go hug your children,” or “Of course! I shouldn’t worry what people think about me,” and so much more. Some are even incorporated into my own pop up screens. Again, I am so grateful.

But I keep thinking about City Slickers. The movie.

You remember the scene. Billy Crystal’s character, Mitch, is talking to the leathered old trail boss, Curly, about life:

Curly: Do you know what the secret of life is?
[holds up one finger]
Curly: This.
Mitch: Your finger?
Curly: One thing. Just one thing. You stick to that and the rest don’t mean shit.
Mitch: But, what is the “one thing?”
Curly: [smiles] That’s what *you* have to find out.

Amen, Curly.

Our “rules” or “mantras” or “laws” are gifts and great tools to help us in our One Thing. But they aren’t the Thing itself. It’s important to remember that. Because it’s impossible for me to live up to a set of rules. Maybe that should be one of my rules?

Well, actually it already is. But that’s for another day.

Finger Eleven.

This entry was posted in Business as usual. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

