Soul Speculation and Human Worship Theory on a Thursday Morning. Most Likely Nothing New.

It has come to my attention that people are remarkably wonderful. And people are remarkably lacking.

Could we say that people are remarkably wonderfully lacking? I think so. Here’s why.

There is nothing so divine as connecting with other people, except the Devine. And that’s where people fall short. They aren’t God. They can fill me only so much… and then, still thirsty, I feel myself swooning from want. So to speak.

But the good thing is, THAT is a good thing. People are great at being people, but they stink at being God. Whenever I start to swoon I have to find my feet and say, “Oh yes, people are people – limited, finite, and wonderfully lacking. Remarkably so.” I think it’s a relief for everyone.

Who wants the pressure of having to satisfying someone else’s soul? You would become their slave trying to do it. Picture it, two slaves, one trying to give more than they’ve got, the other trying to take more than is available. Pitiful.

And so common.

We see it all the time. And not just in relationships. “Why won’t xyz satisfy me?” Because it can’t. The soul can’t be impregnated by anything physical. It requires… immaculate conception.

So to speak.

Psalm 62

For the director of music. For Jeduthun. A psalm of David.

My soul finds rest in God alone;
my salvation comes from him.
He alone is my rock and my salvation;
he is my fortress, I will never be shaken.

How long will you assault a man?
Would all of you throw him down—
this leaning wall, this tottering fence?
They fully intend to topple him
from his lofty place;
they take delight in lies.
With their mouths they bless,
but in their hearts they curse.
Selah
Find rest, O my soul, in God alone;
my hope comes from him.
He alone is my rock and my salvation;
he is my fortress, I will not be shaken.
My salvation and my honor depend on God;
he is my mighty rock, my refuge.
Trust in him at all times, O people;
pour out your hearts to him,
for God is our refuge.
Selah
Lowborn men are but a breath,
the highborn are but a lie;
if weighed on a balance, they are nothing;
together they are only a breath.
Do not trust in extortion
or take pride in stolen goods;
though your riches increase,
do not set your heart on them.

One thing God has spoken,
two things have I heard:
that you, O God, are strong,
and that you, O Lord, are loving.
Surely you will reward each person
according to what he has done.

This entry was posted in Business as usual. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Soul Speculation and Human Worship Theory on a Thursday Morning. Most Likely Nothing New.

  1. Richard says:

    We’ve often said this. No one can be expected to be everything for us and fulfil all our needs.

    I tell you this dating lark is doing my head in!! Everyone on the site I’ve spoken to says it’s an emmotional rollercoaster. Women are a minefield!! Why do they go for the wrong kind of guy so often!! But they don’t all do that, only the ones I like!! My friend, who I could never imagine getting involved with anyone shallow says that two women he has dated have dumped him to go with maen with money even though they like them less than they liked him!!

    I’m feeling insecure!!

Leave a Reply

