Rise and Shine! (Doo-wop doo-wop)

I say strange things to my kids when I wake them up. It isn’t planned, I just do.

Sometimes they get woken to an improv musical about their day. Maybe an opera or something more Godpsell. I love it when they start doing backup. Most days I hear groans coming from under blankets.

I really don’t know why I do it. Maybe I’m hoping to surprise their brains into waking up. Or maybe I’m just odd. Well, of course there’s that.

This morning they didn’t get a song. My alarm went off to wake them, so I walked upstairs, planning as always to simply say, “Time to get up.”

I opened their door and heard their soft breathing and felt the warm air, and said, “Once you weren’t born -not that you were dead, you just weren’t. But now you’re here. What are you going to do with your day? It’s your time on earth.”

They groaned.

I laid down next to the youngest – the one who has the hardest time waking up – and said, “I’m going to spend it washing last night’s dishes, working in the garden, and then feeding my children.”

They groaned again but began stretching and stirring.

On my way back down the stairs I realized I had very important things to do today. Caring for the people you love is never a wasted day. Enjoying God’s creation is icing on the cake.

I’m so grateful to have those opportunities.

I imagine that if my day was spent in a cubicle, I would feel the same way. I would be earning money to care for myself and those I love. I would be working to bring order or creativity to some thing.

What I’m saying is that whether it’s cubicle time, home time, commute time, yard work time – it’s not wasted hours. However we spend our day earning and caring for others is a day well spent.

And don’t forget to play. Because that’s the icing on the cake.

This entry was posted in Business as usual. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rise and Shine! (Doo-wop doo-wop)

  1. Richard says:

    I think there is simply such a marvel in having children that it does make you want to express it in odd ways. My mum used to tell me I was beautiful a lot, I used to wonder why even though I liked it. But it used to feel unsubstansiated.

    Now when I look at my kids I am filled with marvel and awe and other gushy feelings that need a voice that I wasn’t taught so it comes out in odd ways.

    I also used to love saying profound things to them knowing their little undevelloped minds would not appreciate and they would groan! Even less if they hadn’t had time to wake up yet!!

    It feels like creating art, like creating music, or poetry, expressing how you feel hoping that they will benifit from the positive warm feelings they induce just in being. But they just groan! But how would they grow up if you didn’t tell them?!

Leave a Reply

