Open letter to my body

Hey, You!

I am so proud of you. You have worked really hard these 45+ years and I want you to know how much I appreciate it.

You grew up and got through puberty. Not an easy feat! And, then most miraculous of all, you gave birth and nursed four healthy children. You really are fearfully and wonderfully made.

I know at times I ignored your needs. Children had to be cared for even when I was sick and tired. And sometimes I was just lazy and didn’t want to be bothered by you. But despite my occasional neglect, you always gave me a good night’s sleep when you could, and you did a great job of using up the food I ate. Wow, I ate a lot! Here’s to a kicking metabolism!

And now here we are, 45 and winding down a bit. I’m not complaining, I know you’ve worked hard. But we aren’t done yet as far as I know. And there are a few things I’d like to talk to you about.

I really appreciate how you want to store “energy” away incase I need it later. But honestly, I’m living in a very wealthy nation, and I’ve never had to go hungry before. Of course, anything can happen. But I think it’s pretty safe to say there’s no need to panic and start packing it away as if famine is nipping at our heals. I know you are only thinking about my welfare, but let’s ease up a little on the “storing away for the winter of my life”.

I propose a deal. I’ll try to keep moving around as much as I can, and I’ll try very hard to only eat when I’m hungry and keep the portions under control. I’ll no longer think of hunger pangs as an illness that needs to be healed, but a sign that the ole’ tummy is working hard.

Don’t worry, I won’t starve you. You can be sure of that. I promise they’ll be no binge-ing, purging, weirdo diets. And yes, we will continue to enjoy cake – but responsibly.

It may be difficult on us at first when I don’t silence every tummy rumble with a cookie. But we can do it! Look at us! Look at all the stuff we’ve done already! And look at what we can still do: I can move, walk, run, use the bathroom every day (hey, some people can’t, and let me tell you, I’m grateful I can.). What I’m saying is, we can do a lot, and I want it to stay that way as long as it can.

Again, thank you for all your hard work. I know I complain about the little goofy things you do, but I really am amazed at you and so very grateful.

Sincerely,
Yours

p.s. Tell my skin I’m sorry about the 80’s.

This entry was posted in Business as usual. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Open letter to my body

Leave a Reply

