Oops, I did it again.

So, we’re getting my fiance’s house ready to sell, which means doing a bit of staging. You know staging? It’s that stuff the people on HGTV keep telling that you must do to sell your house. Heaven forbid you have the sofa in the wrong place!

Okay, I get it. You really SHOULD try to showcase your home’s best features. And if a sofa is blocking a beautiful fireplace, you need to move it.

But back to Mr. Man’s house. It’s very clean and tidy… and guy-like. Nothing wrong with that, but one or two pictures on the walls might make it a bit friendlier to any potential female buyers. And that’s where I come in. Because I decided to loan some of my artwork to his walls. Wasn’t that nice of me?

It was, until I realized that every painting I have is of flowers. Well, most every painting. The better ones, anyway. They were entirely too feminine. So I decided it was time to get the paints out and make something new! Something interesting for the master bathroom.

A female nude. Back view.

Uh… yeah. Not entirely appropriate for staging purposes. And absolutely feminine.

Why can’t I just paint a ship or forest or something? A tree? A nice sturdy tree?

But the body, especially the backside of a woman, is so beautiful! The curves and yeah, the dimples, and the muscles, and the way the light slides across a shoulder.

(sigh)

I can’t say I actually captured those things, but I did have them in mind when painting. Does that count for anything? Ten points for intended beauty?

Well, even if the painting can’t be used for staging in his house, it was a blast to feel that old feeling again – to be so drawn into a project you forget time and eating.

I’ll post a picture of the painting soon. I’ve just got a few more changes to make, and I think I’m supposed to be waking some people up for school or something…

This entry was posted in Business as usual. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

