And that, Charlie Brown, is why politics makes me angry.

This may be the only political statement you hear me make. I hope so.

Today, the day after elections, I’m hearing those whose man/woman lost say things like, “I guess this country is filled with idiots.”

Excuse me? Are you saying that if everyone was as smart as you they would have voted the way you did? Are you really that vain?

I hope you are speaking from your anger and hurt, and not from your heart.

Could it be that some people honestly feel different than you do about issues? That they’ve thought them through and have come up with different conclusions? That they have different values than you do?

But “stupid” because they disagree?

I don’t want to use the words “kindergarten playground”, but I just did.

This entry was posted in Business as usual. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to And that, Charlie Brown, is why politics makes me angry.

  1. Richard says:

    Ouch!! As you would say!!,

    I don’t think it was political in the slightest, after all both sides will have voters who claim the country is full of idiots!!

    There is so much more I could say but I’m knackered! It does occur to me that if the country is “full” of idiots then that would mean there are only idiots in the country and therefore they are declaring themselves to be idiots!

  2. Well said Alice! People need to get over themselves. I’m also sick of the demonization of the other side. Just because someone does not agree with you 100% does not make them a bad person. God did not create us all the same, but He created us all.

  3. Terri Gross interviewed Jon Stewart at the 92nd Street Y a few weeks back and he spoke about this very thing. His very level-headed approach left me feeling much better about things. You should check it out. I know you can podcast Fresh Air. I think you can also get the 92nd Street series…

    • Richard says:

      I tried to find a link but couldn’t. found it on youtube but it was editied and they never covered bipolar voters in the 9.21 minutes I saw!!

  4. Richard says:

    I pledge allegiance to the flag of the United States of America, and to the republic for which it stands, one nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all, except republicans!

  5. Lisa says:

    I’m a dork. When I first read the title, I thought it said “…why politics makes me hungry!” 😀

Leave a Reply

